NEWS | Aug. 24, 2019

65th Field Artillery Brigade Change of Command

By Sgt. Jordan Hack 65th Field Artillery Brigade

The 65th Field Artillery Brigade (65th FAB), 'America's Thunder,' conducted a combined change of command/responsibility ceremony on Tarbet Field at Camp Williams, August 24, 2019.

Col. Adam L. Robinson relinquished command to Col. Steven Fairbourn, and Command Sgt. Maj. Ryan K. Josie handed responsibility to Command Sgt. Maj. Spencer Nielsen.

Recently returning from a deployment to the Middle East, Robinson and Josie both reflected on their tenure with the 65th FAB, celebrating many accomplishments.

"I am so excited to see where you're going to go," expressed Robinson. "This is the best brigade, by far, in the Army."

The Adjutant General Maj. Gen. Jefferson S. Burton, Utah National Guard, reviewing officer for the ceremony, reflected on why he chose Robinson to lead the brigade.

"It was very clear to me that Adam Robinson was the man to lead this brigade on a very difficult mission," said Burton. "I never once thought he'd serve himself first, he always served his soldiers first."

Burton also spoke of Fairbourn's recent assignments and capabilities, saying, "His head is in the clouds…he's still in the strategic realm a little bit. You folks are going to pull him back down into the operational and tactical. Steven will execute and make you proud."

Both Fairbourn and Nielsen are returning to the 65th FAB having served in 'America's Thunder' before, and are excited to be back.

Fairbourn extended gratitude to Robinson and Josie for handing over the unit at such a high level of readiness. He also expressed, "This step represents the most significant and proudest military day for me in my entire career."

"The greatness of the unit does not reside because of its commander," Fairbourn conceded. "It resides because of the passion, professionalism, and patriotism of each of its soldiers."

Fairbourn and Nielsen assume leadership of over 1,000 soldiers, with subordinate National Guard units in Utah, California, and North Carolina.